Time to get Loud

March 9, 2014 at 8:23 pm (More than Mediocre) (, , , , )

crying out loud

I have a friend with a need. It’s not a need that can be easily met. In fact, she’s in need of a miracle. And it’s not one of those situations where things in life can suddenly shift into place to work everything out. She needs a downright supernatural, mind-blowing act of God, MIRACLE.

My family prays for her every day. We have for several years now. 

Perhaps you are like us.  Desperate for a miracle for yourself or a loved one.  Still praying.  Still waiting. 

As time passes, and we don’t see what we think is the answer to our prayers, we lose heart. We get discouraged. And sometimes we give up hope. We might keep praying, but we stop expecting the supernatural. And truth be told, we’d probably be shocked if our prayers were actually answered.

This morning as I came across the following scriptures, the Lord spoke to my heart.

46 Then they came to Jericho. As Jesus and his disciples, together with a large crowd, were leaving the city, a blind man, Bartimaeus (which means “son of Timaeus”), was sitting by the roadside begging.

Bartimaeus was just another person in need of a major, supernatural, mind-blowing act of God, MIRACLE. Nobody could help him. His situation was not going to change on its own.

47 When he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to shout, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”

Bartimaeus had heard of Jesus of Nazareth and He had heard the reports of all of the lives that Jesus was changing everywhere He went. Bartimaeus knew if there was ANYONE that could change his situation, it was Jesus. So he began to yell out into the crowd, begging for Jesus to have mercy on him.

I can visualize the story as it unfolds. At first, no one notices. Then, those nearby shake their heads and roll their eyes at the hopelessly blind beggar. Eyebrows raise, and people start to snicker at the thought of Jesus taking notice of the desperate man.

48 Many rebuked him and told him to be quiet, but he shouted all the more, “Son of David, have mercy on me!”

But that doesn’t stop him. Bartimaeus knows he’s got a shot to capture the attention of the One who can change his life forever. His heart pounds and his body begins to tremble as he calls out louder and louder. He doesn’t care what the others around him think because he knows that Jesus is the only one who can set him free.

49 Jesus stopped and said, “Call him.”

A hush falls over the crowd. The people are stunned that the great healer has called for the blind beggar. Their minds are racing, wondering whether He will reprimand the beggar for being a nuisance or if He might have pity on the man. The air is electric with wonder and excitement. What will the great teacher do next?

So they called to the blind man, “Cheer up! On your feet! He’s calling you.” 50 Throwing his cloak aside, he jumped to his feet and came to Jesus.
51 “What do you want me to do for you?” Jesus asked him.

Now Bartimaeus knows that Jesus knows his need. After all, he’s just waded through a crowd of people bumping into some, others steering him in the right direction. His eyes are dark and empty and it is clear to all that he has no vision.

The blind man said, “Rabbi, I want to see.”

I love this part. He doesn’t give his medical history. He doesn’t launch into a 30 minute speech on why he deserves to see or why he doesn’t deserve to be blind. He simply states that he wants his eyes to function the way they were created to.

52 “Go,” said Jesus, “your faith has healed you.” Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus along the road.

This part fascinates me. Was it Bartimaeus’ initial faith that healed him? Was he healed the first time he cried out to the Lord? Or was it his continued display of faith that brought about Jesus’ miracle?

Had Bartimaeus stopped calling to Jesus when his first cries weren’t answered, he never would have received his sight.
Had he let embarrassment overtake him…
had he listened to or cared what the others around him thought about him desperately crying out to the Lord…
had he doubted that Jesus would act on his behalf…
had he stopped making his pleas because nothing was happening…

he would NOT have received the supernatural, mind-blowing act of God MIRACLE that he needed.

That’s a lot to think about.

If we aren’t in need of a miracle ourselves, most of us know someone who is. I, for one, choose to be like Bartimaeus. There’s no doubt in my mind what my Lord and savior is capable of. And though I’ve been crying out in the crowd for my friend for quite some time now with seemingly no response, I choose not to let anyone or anything discourage me. As I persevere and get louder and louder, I get closer and closer to the One who makes ALL things new.

5 Comments

  1. michdeaven said,

    Just what I needed to read as I continue to beg God for a healing miracle for my niece, Hadley Joy Rogers. Thank you Julie.

  2. Jim Way said,

    Awesome word, Julie, and I am with you. It is time to get louder!

  3. Linda Rouse said,

    You have no idea how this ministers to my heart. You are so right. Don’t give up, continue to pray for that miracle. Jesus is ready! He is always there with a miracle just waiting. Love you, Julie. You are so precious to me.

  4. Matt Way said,

    Thank you so much for this word Julie. I needed to hear that. I appreciate your steadfast commitment to pray for Tara. I know its time for me to get louder!

  5. Tara Way said,

    Julie, Thank you, that is such an awesome word. I need to stop listening to what others say and caring about what they think. I will get louder!

Leave a Reply

